By Charlie G ❘ 2011
Book by:
Dr. Stefan Ripich, ND, CNP

Reviewed by:
Rating:
4
On May 9, 2011
Last modified:March 14, 2014

Summary:

What I like most about the treatment to cure diabetes exposed in this book is that it’s a step by step guide, one day at a time, with great practical tips and written in a language that anyone can understand.

After some years of research, trying and writing about all possible treatments to cure diabetes, I recently stumbled upon a magnific source of information for all of us, searching hopelessly for guidance and/or a therapy to heal our diabetes, be it type 1 or type 2.

The book is called “The 30 day diabetes cure” (The drug-free solution to America’s #1 health crisis), by Dr. Stefan Ripich, ND, CNP and Jim Healthy (America’s Health Coach) as co-author.

In this post I’m going to review this book, explain what I like about it and what I don’t, and hope that this will help you decide whether you too want to give it a try or not.

First of all, I don’t know about you, but I do care a lot about my health and the potential consequences of my diabetes.
For many years (soon it will be 13 years since I was diagnosed with diabetes type 1) I’ve purposely tried to say to myself that I’m not going to suffer all those horrible complications associated with diabetes, and therefore didn’t want to read about the “dark-side” of diabetes.

I’ve tried to eat healthy with few carbohydrates and a minimum of sugars, exercise regularly and keep a possitive attitude.

Although that’s already more than what 90% of the people with diabetes do, after having read Dr. Ripich’s book I realized that this was not enough, at least in some aspects.

30 day diabetes cure book official siteThis book helped me accept that diabetes can be a terrible disease if not properly controlled, leading to a possible loss of mobility, eyesight, independence and 10-20 years of your life. And that’s one of the things I’m gratefull for, thanks to this book, I’m more motivated than ever to fight for my health and my life.

What I like most about the treatment to cure diabetes exposed in this book is that it’s a step by step guide, one day at a time, with great practical tips and written in a language that anyone can understand.

With this “diet” or “way of living” you don’t go from 0 to 100 overnight, but you are accompanied by professional medical guidance (allopathist, naturopath and nutrition specialist) step by step, gradually making the necessary changes in your life in order to control and reverse diabetes.

Although I’m aware that this treatment mainly addresses people with type 2 diabetes, I was encouraged by the testimonial of a type 1 diabetic who could reduce his insulin dose by 80% following the advice given in the book. Each chapter has a case study or testimonial showing the before-and-after numbers concerning A1C, weight, triglicerides, blood pressure and medicines taken and eliminated.

For people with type 2 diabetes, this sentence from the book speaks for itself: “I have never had a type 2 diabetes patient who hasn’t gotten completely off their medications and returned to a normal, healthy, drug-free life.

Encouraging, isn’t it?

I really like the holistic approach, connecting the right food, exercise, emotions, natural vitamins, relaxation, sleep, elimination of toxins, avoidance of stress… That’s what most of the treatments lack, just considering one approach.

And, there are lots of scientific studies behind his approach mentioned in the book.

Now let’s turn to the two things I’m a bit skeptic about: on the back cover of the book it says “…It’s virtually a FREE solution…” Although lots of the things recommended are so cheap that you could consider it almost a free therapy, there are also some natural vitamins/suplements recommended, and we know that those aren’t cheap.
But I have to agree, that compared with the costs of drugs, medical insurance and hospital visits when diabetes complications arise, it really is a cheaper and safer option.

The second thing I don’t really agree with is the claim that “This is the best and only viable alternative you have to surrendering your life to diabetes.” My years of research on healing diabetes treatments made me clear that there are many approaches in different cultures and through different means to cure diabetes, some of them easier to follow than others and some very difficult to follow. But it’s true, that this is the most comprehensive, hollistic, well-structured treatment that has come to my hands, and which is not as restrictive as other “diets”.

Since I’m really taken by Dr. Ripich’s book, I wanted to finish this review with another aspect that I like about this book: it doesn’t make you believe this is a magic bullet, where you take a natural pill and your diabetes is reversed. On the contrary, Dr. Ripich is very open in this regard and states that it will take commitment, determination and persistence.

Why I don’t think “The 30 day diabetes cure” is a scam?

No matter what you do, write or sell, there are always people who don’t agree with you. But if you’re trying to sell some health-related product, people can get really offended. Sometimes criticism is surely justified. But sometimes people judge before having investigated the product themselves. For whatever reason they feel the need to make public accusations, such as referring to the product as a scam, submitting that it doesn’t provide anything new and that they just want to get people’s money…

For what I’ve seen, most of the people making such accusations haven’t even read the book or tested the product. I can think of 2 reasons why someone would make such accusations:

  1. they have already read a lot of books or internet websites about the topic and consider the book doesn’t provide new information (in this case, if they had applied all the recommendations of those resources, they wouldn’t be looking for any other book/product to improve their health).
  2. they are not willing to take that commitment, determination and persistence long enough to feel and experience the benefits of it. They prefer to critisize someone else (in this case the author of the book) rather than take responsability for their own health and stick with one approach until seeing benefits (note: for whatever reason, sometimes our body just doesn’t respond the same way to a treatment that other people do).

Why would a doctor or specialist in a topic risk his own revenue streams by trying to scam other people? (it would be different, if it were someone totally unknown, without credentials, without a practice where you can call…)

Having said that, read the book and applied its recommendations, I highly recommend this book to any person suffering diabetes (specially if you have type 2 diabetes you’ll see faster positive results). Do yourself a favor and don’t wait too long for science to discover and market the next new transplant solution or drug for diabetes. You can do something for your health NOW.

And if you are backed up with a 100% positive results achieved by this book (and the money-back guarantee), you don’t have anything to loose, but a LOT to win: your life and health!

If you are more a visual person who prefers to see and listen to the doctor instead of reading what he has to say in a book, you can pay a little bit more and get access to “The 30 Day Diabetes Cure Video Coaching Program“, where Dr. Ripich guide you via video on every step of the process.

You can take a look at Dr. Ripich’s site and consider buying the book for yourself or a loved one (they also have a video where they talk about it): www.30daydiabetescure.com

Update July 4, 2011: I just published a new post with a detailed overview of how Dr. Ripich’s plan works.

Please, don’t forget to comment here how you are doing following this book’s plan. We may all learn from you and get motivated.

Update: below you can find several comments from people (like this one or this other one) who just after a few days into this program are doing already great! And some months later they are even off their meds! Take a look and get inspired!.

Did this review help you solve your doubts about the book? Please, rate accordingly
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (14 votes, average: 3.79 out of 5)

What I like most about the treatment to cure diabetes exposed in this book is that it’s a step by step guide, one day at a time, with great practical tips and written in a language that anyone can understand.

Tags: , , ,

130 Comments on The 30 Day Diabetes Cure Review

  1. Soren Egstrup says:

    You write: “it will take commitment, determination and persistence”

    And I believe that you are right.

    Create a healthy lifestyle for yourself. Help the cells in your blood burn more sugar and create more vital energy for all your life’s purposes.
    Diabetes health issues have their roots in the fact that the cells gradually lose the ability to burn sugar.

    But yes, the right mindset, we need that.

    ~Soren

    • Charlie says:

      Exactly Soren, the right mindset and attitude is very important to control diabetes and any health issue. And also these elements are taken in consideration in Dr. Ripich’s book, with helpful tips to apply them to your every-day life.

      Charlie

  2. Tonya says:

    One thing in particular caught my attention; the book says that even though you get your sugar numbers under control with meds, the disease still progresses. I work with a nutritionist and she said,”Oh sure, that’s right.” Why didn’t my doctors tell me that? I was diagnosed with type 2 almost two years ago and this is the first I’ve heard of this. That made me angry, to say the least. NONE of the brochures and pamplets I got even mentioned that little fact.

    • Kay says:

      Absolutely agree. I asked my doctor if I changed my diet and lost weight if this could get better. I was diagnosed about the same time you were. His answer was, “Probably not.” I too was struck by the fact that the disease still progresses. I bought the book and stuck to the program. My fasting blood sugar this morning was 102. I’m floating on air.

      • Charlie says:

        Hi Kay, congrats for those great sugar levels!! Keep the good work!

        Cheers

      • Richv says:

        It seems to me that you need to look for another doctor, Kay. My doctor repeatedly tells me that diet and exercise can help to reverse diabetes. When I started Dr. Ripich’s book on April 1, I was determined to follow this explicitly. My blood sugar levels were in the low 200′s and that was with taking Janumet. After 3 1’2 weeks, my blood sugars have leveled off around 105 for the past 4 days. I plan to lower that number also by continuing the plan. I feel great, have more energy, sleep better and am happier!
        The one statement that stuck with me from his book, was, “It isn’t about will power, it’s about brain power. Keep that in mind and you will be successful!

  3. Charlie says:

    Hi Tonya, you are not the only one. Actually if everyone would know these things, everybody would be angry with their doctors. They just medicate us, but not educate us. I liked one sentence from Dr. Ripich, author of “The 30 Day Diabetes Cure” when he talks about the shift he took on his career, saying: “I wanted to be a healer, not a dealer”.
    I think that’s exactly what’s happening in the health community. Most of our healers just turned dealers.

    • Marlene says:

      Question: If with medication, you get your sugar numbers in control, and the disease still progresses, is there a difference in the disease not progressing with diet when not using medication? I am hoping that you can avoid the horrible progression of complications with diet. My doctor says no one can stay on the diet, and that the disease will progress anyway and complications will happen eventually. This gives a person little hope. Can you comment on this issue? Thank you.

  4. Charlie says:

    Hi Marlene. Well, I’m not the author of the book (The 30-Day Diabetes Cure) nor a doctor, but I would say that your doctor knows how to keep someone depressed and hooked to his treatment!
    Depending on the type of diabetes you have, you can control a lot of what happens to your body through diet and sport. It doesn’t have to be a super-restrictive diet which are very difficult to follow. If you were refering to the book mentioned above, the diet after the first 10 days is not difficult to follow. And no hungry at all (well, depending on what you are used to eat) But I am someone that needs to eat a lot to fill stuffed, although I am slim, and I’m not feeling hungry at all with this diet.

    I would say, take a second opinion from a doctor. Dr. Ripich (author of the book) seems much more knowledgeable to me on what can be achieved with diabetes and what not than most of the traditional alopat physicians.

  5. Marlene says:

    Thank you for that information. I am dieting and exercising and my numbers are coming down. I will try this book. It sounds encouraging. Thanks again.

  6. Charlie says:

    You’re very welcome Marlene. I hope this book encourages you so much as it did with me. Please, keep us informed about your improvements or changes.

    Charlie

  7. Connie says:

    I’m on Day 6 of the plan, but I planned out my meals for the first ten days using all of Dr. Ripich’s suggestions for Phase One. I am absolutely astounded at how well this is working for me.

  8. Charlie says:

    Hi Connie, I’m glad that this treatment is working so well for you. As it’s usually said, if something works, keep doing it!
    Let us know how well you are at the end of the 30 days diabetes cure plan.

  9. Carol Jelley says:

    Please send info. thanks

  10. Charlie says:

    Hi Carol, what can of info would you like to receive?

  11. Bill says:

    I want to buy the book but I don’t use credit cards….
    Need an address to send the check…

    Thank you

  12. Charlie says:

    Hi Bill, I would suggest you to visit their site and ask them directly, because I don’t have anything to do with the payments.

    Cheers

  13. Barbara Downie says:

    Hi!

    I am looking for the Book “The Thirty day Diabetes Cure” by Dr. Stefan Ripich, from Bootom Line Books. Nowhere can I find a phone number to place an order. I’ve never ordered anything by computer so I tried today to find the book tahe book on line. I found it but there was no place to submit an order. I know I’m almost computer illiterate but can you tell me how to get the book or give be a telephone number to call. The card in the flyer advertising this book had been taken out so I can’t order it. Anyway you can help me out?Thanks—

  14. Charlie says:

    Sure Barbara, you can visit Dr. Ripich’s website by clicking here and there, when you click the “Get your copy now” button you’ll be directed to the page where you can put your card details for the payment.
    They also have a customer support line (505 983-8010) but I don’t know if they take orders that way as well.

    Hope this helps.
    Charlie

  15. diabetes and chromium, one of the trace minerals we feel plays a very important part in sustaining and controlling our blood sugar leavels is chromium, and when taken as a supplement in the form of chromium picolinate, it seems to have a very positive affect on controling blood sugar spikes. If you have type 1 or type 2 diabetes, or any other blood sugar disorders, you may want to give close consideration as to how possible increases of this trace mineralin your diet may prove beneficial in helping you manage your health challenges. Chromium is an essential trace element involved with glucose and lipid metabolism, circulating insulin levels, and the peripheral activity of insulin. In vitro and in vivo studies suggest that chromium potentiates the activity of insulin. This is thought to occur via enhanced intracellular tyrosine kinase activity that results from an interaction between chromium, low molecular weight chromium-binding substance, and activated cell surface insulin receptors. Supplementation with chromium picolinate play an important part in the treatment of type 1 and type 2 diabetes. Studies have shown that many type 2 diabetic do not have enough chromium in their system. The reasons for this deficiencymay be caused by inadequate intake of chromium in the diet, the inability to absorpt chromium and increased losses of the mineral due to other body system stresses. For these reasons, many people with diabetes are using chromium picolinate supplementation to control blood sugar spike and physicians are beginning to recognize the significant clinicalbenefits it offers in addressing the diabetes and helping diabetics maintain optimal insulin levels. Documented studies show the optimum level of chromium picolinate supplimentation for those with Diabetes is in the order of 1000 mcg per day.

  16. Hanor says:

    For Bennie Zulluf:
    Your information given here is the same as what I have read in many articles about diabetes, but on all of those articles no one ever mentioned how much chromium is to take or safe to take. I recently added a vitamin supplement with 400mcg chromium made from cinamon extract hoping to help control my blood sugar, but I wanted to add and take another multivitamins too which contains Vitamins A, B, C etc for a 50 y/o man, but it also contains antoher 200mcg of chromium, I am afraid to take it because I may be overdosing myself with chromium. Now I know and safe to know that it is safe. Thank you Bennie.

  17. Lee says:

    Using all of the info in this book or any other book will not CURE anyones diabetes, it will just allow you to control it.

    • Randy says:

      Call it a cure or whatever you want… I am no longer taking nedications and my fasting sugar levels are around 110-115 and my A1c is great! I would call it a cure.

  18. Charlie says:

    Well, I guess it depends on what means for each one of us “cure”. For me, improving health until the point of not needing drugs anymore and being able to live without severe complications is the closest to a “cure” and that would be enough for me.

  19. SharonARalph says:

    I would like to order this book but I don’t like to give my CC on the internet is there a phone number I can call please let me know.

  20. Charlie says:

    Hi Sharon, well, giving your credit card number via phone is not that safe either, actually i would rely more on secured online payments than via phone.
    But if you go to the site where they sell the book (you can find it above, in my review text), I think they had a costumer phone number at the top of the page.

    Good luck!
    Charlie

  21. paul stagnoli says:

    i would like a copy of your book

  22. Charlie says:

    Hi Paul, well, it is not my book. I just wrote this review about it. But you can buy it here http://www.30daydiabetescure.com

    Cheers

  23. Suky says:

    Hi Charlie, Thank you so much for your review. You are the first positive feedback I have read about this book. Some say it’s a waste of money and is not helpful at all. I was ready to order the book and didn’t. I am a type 2 diabetic and have been working very hard to lose weight, and watching everything I eat. My doctor has been very helpful but as a doctor he still believes on medication. I do have a very good relationship with my doctor and he knows I will try anything to get rid of the medication. So, I agree that commitment, determination and persistence is key. I did read the sample of the book on my Kindle but was not so motivated in buying it. However, based on your review you seem to feel that the book is worth buying and useful in getting good healthy results. I was told that the book did not have food plans in it and was not informative as to what to eat and not. So, since you have read it, tell me what you think. Appreciate your time and effort. Thanks for all the info.
    It’s always great to know I am not alone out here. Take care.

  24. Charlie says:

    Hi Suky, Thank you for your comment. I wonder if the people who wrote all those negative reviews about The 30 day diabetes cure book have actually read the book. It seems to me that many just write those reviews after having read the sales-letter in the website where they sale the book.

    And if they bought the book and read it, I wonder if they applied what’s suggested in the book.

    I’m still following the 30 day diabetes cure plan although I haven’t seen much improvements (but that’s because I have type 1 diabetes and the book is specially helpful for type 2) because I believe in the evidence presented in the book, and I know that what I’m doing is preventing my body at least to not get worse (you know with diabetes there are so many complications and derived illnesses).

    As I said, it takes courage and determination to follow the plan but it’s not that hard as other diets that I’ve tried.

    It’s true that you don’t get a thorough food plan, but I guess that’s because:
    1. you get to know 1 day at a time what not to eat and what you can eat instead of that.
    2. the book is complemented with a recipies book and website which follow the suggestions in the plan.

    Having said that, you do get some breakfast ideas for instance, so you can choose.

    I hope this helped.

    Cheers

  25. tai leupolu says:

    I want to thank everyone involved in making it possible for writing the book. My 48-year-old-brother’s life was at the edge of the cliff with his diabetic numbers. It went as high as over 500, and he was at a near call. His good friend gave him the book and he followed it right away. Before the end of 30 days, he was pronounced diabetic free. He is no longer assisted while walking and he is enjoying his golf game as a means of getting into the sun. My brother gave me the book, and I am sharing your website with most of my teacher friends. I want to especially thank you for revealing the downfalls of the medicsl world. It’s good to be informed and highly educated on issues. Thanks again HEALINGKITCHEN crew.

  26. Charlie says:

    Hi Tai, good to hear that your brother has beaten diabetes following the 30 day diabetes cure plan!!
    I wish your brother a continuously healthy long life.

    Cheers
    Charlie

  27. Gene says:

    Hey Charlie, how much are you being paid to make all these positive comments. Are you the only one that’s reviewing this book?

  28. Charlie says:

    Hi Gene, I don’t know if I’m the only one reviewing this book, though Suky wrote above that other people had negative reviews. I don’t care what others do and say. I just write what I think, what I feel and recommend what I believe can help other people.
    Yes, I get that in internet you never know… If you read above Tai’s comment, you have seen that the plan described in the book help her brother be diabetes free.
    Now, the decision whether to believe her or not is yours. I prefer to live in a world where I can trust people, and I do.
    I know sometime I will get disappointed, but usually I don’t.
    I learnt a lot from that book and still recommend it.

    Cheers

  29. Jim says:

    Medical doctors in contemporary America are just agents for the pharmaceutical companies, and the only thing these damn companies care about it money, it’s a greed driven enterprise because contemporary American culture is a greed driven culture, what I really can’t believe is that the medical schools have allowed the pharmaceutical companies into the med schools, so our future doctors are indoctrinated to prescrible drugs in med school, it’s a horrifying and shameful situation, my doctor is a complete dope, all he does with me is prescribe drugs.

  30. Charles Dell says:

    I have type 2 Diabetes and taking Metformin
    while suffering from Neuropothy in feet and hands lately that worries me. Thank you Charlie, for recommending this book. I am ordering today from Amazon.com.

  31. Charlie says:

    Sure Charles. I hope you can improve your health with that plan and that you share your evolution with us here so that other people can get inspired and motivated.

    Cheers

  32. Chuck Tillinghast says:

    As I am in the early stages of diabetes 2 This book sounded very interesting. I have ordered the book and will comment on my progress at the end of the 30 day period.
    I have some questions that I would like to put forth ,
    I am on medication for the disease and was wondering if one is supposed to continue with the med’s while following the book ? and , Are you or are you not being paid to write these comments ?

  33. Eric says:

    I have not been able to find the price of the book anywhere.
    Is it a secret? How much is it?

    • Chuck Tillinghast says:

      Eric, I paid $57 for it online , you may do better through Barnes & Noble but I haven’t checked.

  34. Charlie says:

    Hi Chuck, it would be great if you post your progress with the plan after the 30 days here. Concerning the medications, you are not suposed to stop suddently taking them, but slowly lowering them as soon as you see that you are doing better. It would help if you could talk with a supportive allopathic doctor or a naturopath who can guide you when you start decreasing meds.

    In reference to being paid to post this comments, I don’t get paid to write them. I bought the book myself, I read it and applied it. And I am convinced that this plan can help a lot of people with diabetes type 2 (unfortunately I’m type 1). You see, science and many doctors aare now stating that type 2 diabetes is a lifestyle condition. If you change your lifestyle to a healthier one (with the right foods, exercise, avoiding stress…) your body should thank you for that by improving your health. You can do that yourself or you can do that with a guide.

    During my 13 years with diabetes i have reaserched a lot a tried things by myself, and I can tell you, I prefer to follow some kind of guide. It’s easier and it’s proved that worked for other people.

    Cheers

    • chuck tillinghast says:

      Hi Charlie , thanks for responding to my questions. At this point I have been into the program for just about 2 weeks, I have lost pounds and so far I am delighted. I will contact my doctor after the 30 day period and let you know what the changes are in blood sugars, etc.

  35. Charlie says:

    Hi Eric, as you can see on the homepage where they sell the book, right now the price is $49.95.

    Cheers

  36. Cathy says:

    Hi Charlie,
    I just stumbled on to your site. . .Your amazing for sharing all of your information and research!
    I was wondering if you know anything about “The Cure for Type II Diabetes” the web site is: http://www.cancertutor.com/Dia.....ype_II.htm
    It was interesting but a different approach.
    Could you let me know what you think about this approach.
    I have had type 2 diabetes for about 11 years and am trying to take care of myself and that is a constant battle of mine.
    Thank you

    Cathy

  37. Charlie says:

    Hi Cathy, well, I can see some similarities with what’s on that website about the cure for type 2 diabetes and what Dr. Ripich suggest in his book. So, either one or the other I would encourage you to follow one of them for some months and see the results.

    Then, come back here and share with us your results, please.

    Cheers

    • Cathy says:

      Charlie
      Thank you for your quick response. I will let you know what the outcome is.
      Take care
      Cathy

  38. jairo bautista says:

    Hola carlos, soy diabetico tipo 2 controlado con ejercicio y dieta vivo en venezuela. el libro del DR RIPICH en español como lo puedo adquirir? Gracias

  39. Lynnae Hansen says:

    I am thinking of getting the book but My problem is my special needs grandchild who I take care of. Among other things she also has Type 2 diabetes. She is on 250m of metformin twice a day. She does not have the ability to understand keeping to a diet. I try to feed her well but she does not take changes well. I am afraid that she will not accept the changes needed to keep to the diet and exercise needed in this program. I am open to any suggestions on how to make this an easier process for her.

    thanks
    Lynnae

  40. Charlie says:

    Hi Lynnae, how old is your grandchild?

    • Lynnae Hansen says:

      Hi She is actually 20 years old but her mind set fluctuates between 4 and 20. She has cb and mild retardation among other things.
      She is a wonderful girl, who I thinks wants so bad to be like others her age and can’t.

  41. Charlie says:

    Hi Lynnae, I’m sad to hear that. I don’t really know what to suggest you. This goes beyond my experiences and knowledge. Have you tried to find a supportive doctor working in this direction? If you live relative close to Dr. Ripich, you could consult with him directly and see what he recommends.

    I hope you can find a way to help your grandchild.

    Cheers

    • Lynnae Hansen says:

      Thank you for your comments. I will continue trying to keep her on a good diet and will try the book.

      Lynnae

  42. Donna Cattermole says:

    I saw the book on the internet and they only say you can get it,
    with a credit card i do not own a cedit card so where do i send,
    my money order or is that the only way i can get the book is a,
    credit card i really want this book.

  43. Donna Cattermole says:

    please let me know this i will appreciate thank you again.

  44. Charlie says:

    Hi Donna, i don’t know for sure if they accept other payment methods. Ask the customer support if you can pay with money order or something different.

    Good luck!

    Cheers

  45. Beatriz Perez says:

    I do have an authentic treasure in my hands.
    I realized that I must make excercise and change the way I was eating. Now every night I have everything prepared for next day.
    Not more surprises., and everything is working. Sometimes I do have small falls but next day I am in track again.
    Autentically I think you saved my life although I have not meet
    you personally. My mother died at 58 years old of pancreatic cancer., I was going by the same road. You arrived just in time.
    thanks again and God bless you for the hard working you are doing

  46. Charlie says:

    Hi Beatriz, I’m glad you feel that way! Keep in track and let us know how your health improves, so that other people get motivated.

    Cheers

  47. John S. Lupo says:

    Hi Charlie, I’m a 70 year old male with type 2 diabetes since i was 54 and I have never had good control of my diabetes until I bought the book 5 days ago. My A1C was 10.2 on my last test and the recommendation was the same as in the past-increase Metformin to 1,000mg twice a day and increase Lantis (insulin) to 60 units and now start taking another fast acting insulin before meals. Needless to say this was insane and I was over it. I guess the saying “when the student is ready the teacher will come” is true.
    I purchased the book and the very next day (I swear to God) my blood sugar was 109 after fasting. I started the diet using the 12 super foods he recommended (I was so desperate) I said screw it I’m only going to eat those foods until I get the book. I couldn’t believe what happened, the next day B/S was 115 the third day 155 (I cheated a little the nite before and paid for it)
    Just for the record I’m not being paid one dime and frankly don’t care if your readers buy the book or not, but I for one know it works and I can’t wait to see my doctor and nutritionist on my next trip. I plan to buy them both a copy of the book.
    Thanks for your review and keep up the good work… Let all the skeptics continue down the path and see if the student gets ready so the teacher can com before it’s to late.

    John

  48. Charlie says:

    HI John, thanks so much for your comment! Yes, I believe in that saying as well. Sometimes we come across things that could help us tremendously to improve our lives or health but we don’t recognize it and do anything until we are ready. It happened to me as well.

    I’m glad that you body is responding so well to that plan. That’s why I decided to write this review: because I knew that this book can really help many people.

    Tell us your doctor’s reaction when you go visit him/her next time ;-)

    Cheers

  49. arsben dennis jennings says:

    I do not have a credit card and I want to purchase the book immediately. I can pay by check or money order. Please let me to know who I would send my check or money order to in order to receive the book.

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Arsben, I think on ther website they just offer credit card purchases. I guess you could contact the customer service and ask them directly.

      Good luck!

  50. Doug says:

    Hello-I received a copy of “The 30 Day Diabetes Cure” and would like to follow the program. I had been diagnosed with Type 2 a fwe months ago and have been able to lower my blood sugar to the 90′s through diet and excercise but sometimes fluctuate into the prediabetes range, so I would like to control my blood sugar better. My question is: are there recipies or meal suggestions that coincide with each chapter of the book, to guide me along?

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Doug, there is a website where one of the editors/writers of the book publishes meals and recipies which contain the foods recommended in the book. The website is http://www.myhealingkitchen.com
      You can also buy there the “Diabetes Healing Cook Book” and “The Healing Kitchen” book.

      But you can start with the recipies in the website for free.

      Cheers

  51. Bruce says:

    Hey, any Vietnam veterans out there reading this? Thank you for your service.

    Just a reminder that the VA will pay you over $100/month if you have type-2 diabetes controlled by diet and exercise, over $200/month if your type-2 diabetes requires medication. Not to mention extra money for each extremity experiencing diabetic neuropathy, extra money for hypertension if first diagnosed after Type-2 diabetes was diagnosed, extra money for diabetes-related erectile dysfunction, extra money for diabetes-related depression, etc.

    It’s all based on presumption of service connection if you served in-country (and so presumably exposed to Agent Orange and other herbicides). There are twelve other conditions granted presumption of service-connection (for example, all respiratory cancers, Hodgkins lymphoma, Non-Hodgkins lymphoma, multiple myeloma, Parkinson’s disease, etc.).

    Call 1-800-827-1000 to apply.

  52. ladoris says:

    ican’t believe how informative this book is well written easy to follow my neice has type 2 diabetes and we received the book last week in the mail i read through the book in 2 days and i know if she follow through on it she will do very well.There is so much he says that the doctors don’t bother to tell you does anyone know of anyway that’s accurate to check your blood sugar with pricking your finger everyday?

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Ladoris, I think taken 1 drop of blood from the fingers is the most accurate way to measure sugar. I guess you could indirectly measure some other related indicator with urine, but I believe it won’t be as accurate.
      Maybe someone else here can help you further with your question.

      Cheers

  53. Sharon Osojnak says:

    Hi Charlie,

    Thanks for your review of this book. I found you online “after” reading Dr. Ripich’s book, and starting the suggested 30 DAY DIABETES CURE plan. I do not have diabetes, but I have arthritis. My desire is to reduce my sugar intake in order to reduce the inflammation caused by it. I’m doing a little “self study” by keeping a food journal, along with a log of my pain levels.I view this as a healty long-term lifestyle recommendation for most folks. This should be an interesting 30-days.

    My best to you, and everyone who reads your blog,

    Sharon

  54. Donald Patton says:

    I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes on 6/1/2011. Fasting blood glucose was 290.A1C was 10.3.I purchased this book and stuck to it to the letter.I started a regular exercise program and the diet recommended in the book in mid August 2011.In 7 months I am diabetic free.I lost over 55 lbs.I am totally off my Meds.My average fasting blood glucose is in the low 100′s.On 3/12/2012 my A1C tested 5.2.I am a firm believer in this book and have recommened it to many others.Thank you Stefan Ripich and Jim Healthy.

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Donald, thanks for sharing that here! And congratulations for being now diabetic free!! I guess it was not easy, but in just 7 months, that’s worth the effort (well, even if it takes longer)!

      Stories like yours make my day and give meaning to what I try to do with my blog.

      Enjoy your new life Donald!

      Cheers
      Charlie

  55. David Conn says:

    where can I purchase the book

  56. Mary says:

    I would really like to reaad this book. Unfortunately, I don’t want the other books listed in the website. Is it possible to get just “The 30 day Diabetes Cure”? $51 is a lot of money to me. If I got just the one book would it still be that much money?

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Mary, if I recall correctly, those extra books or ebooks are for free, as a bonus. So i guess the price is going to be the same for just The 30 Day Diabetes Cure book. Or maybe they will ask if you want to buy something else while you are ordering. But if you don’t want anything else, you don’t have to.

      Cheers

  57. Mary says:

    I don’t really cook. And I have absolutely no desire to cook! Is there cooking involved in this book, and if so, how much? I’d
    rather have raw vegetables than have to cook them. Also, I am a vegetarian. Is there anything different in the book for me to know? I guess the biggest question for me is can I find the $51 to buy it. Seems a bit steepto me, when most hard cover books are a lot less.

    • Charlie says:

      Hi again Mary, if you don’t want to cook, i guess you can eat just the veggies and that’s it. Being already vegetarian maybe it would be a better fit for you the book “There’s a cure for diabetes” by Dr. Gabriel Cousens or “The pH Miracle for diabetes” by Dr. Robert Young.

      Cheers

  58. Marianne says:

    Day nine today. So far lost 4 pounds and feel good. Appt. with doctor soon and will see if there is any change in my A1c. Like the simple, easy to follow information in the book. Thanks for the review and the blog. Interesting.

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Marianne, thank you for your comment.
      Not bad 4 pounds lost in nine days! And the most important thing is that you feel good.
      Concerning the A1c i’m not sure if you’ll see a difference, since it is the average of your blood sugar for the last 2 or 3 months. If your daily sugar readings are ok, the A1c should be ok as well.

      Nice that you keep us updated about your progress!

      Cheers

  59. tahir says:

    hi im dr tahir and got diabetes last 8 month and it is my fifth day that iam surching for natural control on my shugar at laast i find dr ripich but i dont have cradit card to buy the book so it means tis book is far away from me and i am not able to have this book just forr hinder of cradit card,why auther of this book make other simple way along with cardit card,there is only one option of credit card and i think there should be an other option too for many more people like me.
    thanks

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Tahir, yes, I totally agree with you. Maybe you can contact their customer service and ask them or tell them your complain.

      Cheers

  60. Tonya says:

    Hi everyone! Charlie, I left a comment way back on July 25 2011, and I must admit I have not checked this site since. But I wanted you all to know that I started the diet on 08/01/11 and was off my meds on the third day. I went from a size 14-16 to a size 8 (that’s an extra word of encouragement for women!!) My own doctor encouraged me on this, but other doctors I know were downright hostile. I also saw a comment posted for veterans regarding disability. I work for the VA—I know all about vets and type 2 diabetes, and I am proud to say that I have gotten several to try the 30 Day Cure—just talked to one 10 minutes ago in fact!!! While vets with service connected disabilities are entitled to benefits, and I would never discourage someone from claiming them, let me just say that you can settle for a check, or you can do something to improve your standard of living. How much are your extremities worth? What good is that check when you can’t pick up your grandchild due to pain? I’m a vet myself—I am certainly pro-veteran. That is why I am going to nursing school to become a diabetic nurse educator. Ya’ll keep up the good work–never give up. I don’t resent my diabetes because of all the good God has brought out of it.

    • Charlie says:

      Wow Tonya, good to hear that! In just 3 days free of meds? I’m glad that you had an encouraging doctor. As you mentioned, many doctors won’t collaborate with this. I guess it’s hard for them to accept that a natural treatment can do what years and years of meds couldn’t do.

      Keep the good work as diabetic nurse educator!

      Cheers

  61. jose giron says:

    me gustaria saber que tan serio es este libro porque del dicho altrecho hay mucho trecho

  62. MaryJane says:

    Hi Charlie, I just heard about this book on a podcast I was listening to and I’m very interested in reading it, especially after reading your review and comments. Here’s my question: I don’t have diabetes and would just like to lose weight and start eating healthier. Is there any reason I shouldn’t follow this diet? Hope that’s not a stupid question. :-) I just wanted to make sure before I make the investment. Thanks so much for all of your info!

    • Charlie says:

      Hi MaryJane, as they say, there are no stupid questions ;-)
      I don’t see any reason why you shouldn’t follow this diet. Actually, one of the first things people following this plan notice is a weight loss.

      Diabetes is just one component of the metabolic syndrom, or syndrom x (being the other ones: hypertension, raised triglycerides and central obesity)
      So, by doing something against one of them you will be also helping reduce the risk of the other syndroms.

      You can check the Wikipedia page for that syndrom in the link above.

      Hope this helped.

      Cheers

      • MaryJane says:

        Thanks so much for your response, Charlie. The other thing that Dr. Ripich discussed in the interview I listened to was the correlation between sugar and depression. I’m curious to see if this diet will help me in that aspect. I’m going to order it now so I will let you know how it goes! Thanks again!

        • Charlie says:

          Hi MaryJane, i hope you will see an improvement in that area as well. Yes please, let us know how the diet/plan affects your overall health.
          the most important thing is to put what you read into practice. If you can’t put everything into practice right now, don’t worry. Start with something and keep applying more and more with the time.

          Cheers

  63. Tracey says:

    I was only able to download six books instead of the 9 total. Is there anyway that I can get the remaining three books.

    Thanks

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Tracey, you probably got a confirmation email with a link to page where yo can download the ebooks. Try again after a few hours. If you still cannot download them, contact support there, I would say.

      Cheers

  64. Dominick Sorrentino says:

    Email me any articles you might have. to cure diabetes. Thanks

  65. Charlie says:

    Hi Dominick, all the articles that I write concerning diabetes and the possibilities to cure diabetes are posted in this website. So you can just browse through the different articles and read the ones you want.

    And if you want to get per email the future articles that I post here, you can subscribe for free to my RSS feed.

    Cheers

  66. S.A. SALAU says:

    Sir, I was just browsing thrpugh the net early March 2012, whem I came accross the advert of the “30 Diabetic cure”. I immediately odered for for the fairly used through Amazon. The book got to me 7 days later. I immediately sarted the reading until I came accross “CINNAMON” whch has be my grandman traditional cure herb.

    Just for a trail I went to the nearly mall to purchase same and I started spreading it on the thing I eat. I dicovered that my blood sugar went down from 400 to 200 with a week

    I am about to start the 30 DAY trial and I intend to follow the instrucction to the letter. salau Culombia MO

  67. Alan J John says:

    Am I type 1 just coz i take shots (started @ 50 am 58)
    I’ve told many about the book some believe as I

  68. Lisa says:

    The reviews are all encouraging, but my husband who has type 2 diabetese is really skinny and can’t lose any more weight. If this diet plan makes one lose weight, I wonder if this plan is for him?!

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Lisa. You are not supposed to starve with this plan. Actually, they recommend you eat snacks between meals as well. The good kind of snacks. I’m not sure if someone who’s thin and has type 2 diabetes (which is not very common) will lose weight following this diet or if it is a normal reaction of the body when it can properly work (in the case you have excess weight)

      I would suggest to ask your question here.

      Cheers

  69. Pedro Moreira says:

    Hi Charlie,
    I ask permision from you to make a comment about cinnamon. I read what S.A.Salau wrote on April,09. I made a question to you about this subject. But I want to emphasize that others guys wanting to lower the blood sugar that they should use the TRUE CINNAMON or CEYLON CINNAMON, exported most by Sri Lanka. Its scientific name is CYNNAMOMU ZEYLANICUM. The CASSIA CINNAMON OR CHINA CINNAMON has a toxic substance named COURAMIN, and if consumed daily ins large dosis can harm the liver.
    I have seen in the web that in the US the cinnamon most consumed is just the wrong one: CASSIA CINNAMOMUM. Here in Brazil is the same problem. I spent almost a day looking it here in Rio de Janeiro where I live, but could not find the true cinnamon.
    I stress that everyone should keep an eye on how to tell the difference between then. You can find their morfology on google searches, specially on Sri Lanka sites.
    I was fortunate because a sent an email to a Sri Lanka exporter. He told me that he do not sell small quantities, but decided to make an exception because my diabetes II. He is going to courier by HDL 2 powder pounds.

  70. Anita Gromek says:

    I stumbled across your website while searching for information on diabetes. I decided to order the 30 Day Diabetes Cure and started Day I today. Perhaps this is not where I can get an answer, but I have a question that I am hoping that someone can tell me. In the intro of the book, it is noted that fruit will be eliminated in Phase I and reintroduced in Phase II. I have read and reread pages of the book and cannot find anywhere in the 30 days that fruit is eliminated. Am I to assume that Day I, when I eliminate sweets, that fruit is a sweet and thus eliminated? I know fruit juice is listed, but not actual fruits (i.e., apples, bananas, berries, and such). I want to make this work for me and don’t want to mess up the plan because I misunderstood.

    • Charlie says:

      Hi Anita, I checked in the book and I found in page 62 that he says: “(I even want you to restrict fruit during phase 1 in order to move your blood sugar to baseline) But dont’t worry: You’ll be re-introducing fresh fruit and healthful sweets into your diet…”

      I hope this helps

      Cheers

  71. Randy says:

    I am in my 6th day of following the book. Just the 6th day of the 30 day cure. My fasting sugar levels went from 135-140 on 2 diabetes meds to 105 and 112 the last two mornings with no meds. I have also lost 10 lbs in 6 days!

    I will continue for the full 30 days and trust my days of meds and side affects are over.

    (My wife has been insuline dependent. She took 2 insulins a day with 2 pills. Her levels ON all this stayed around 210-240 with spikes of 400 a couple times a monnth. Testing her sugar very freqently she came off the insulin entirely but still takes were pills. She hopes to wean herself off of those as well. Her sugar this morning was 180. Not where we want it, but better than when she was on insulin. And this is only day 6!

  72. Charlie says:

    Hi Randy, congratulations and thank you for sharing your great improvements here! People sometimes obsess with the word “cure”, if it should be used in these kind of books/diets/therapies… I think results speak for themselves. And getting your body health back while not needing more drugs is what all people with diabetes should look for.
    Keep the good job and let us know how you are feeling before/after day 30.

    Thanks

    • Randy says:

      I am totally amazed! We are now on day 11 and I have lost a total of 18 lbs! My sugar remaine around 90-110. And my wife’s sugar, which the doctors have had a difficult time regulating, is averaging 150-180. Again, it is still high, but far from the 210-240 she average less than 2 weeks ago. And at that time she was on 2 insulins…. now, NO insulin. We are believing her sugar will come to a healthier level, After all, it is only day 11.

      We are so greateful for a chance to have a healthy body (not to mention saving money on the meds!)

      • Charlie says:

        Wow Randy, you just made my day!! I love reading comments like yours. I hope your wife will have even better sugar levels after the 30 days.

        Let us know

        Cheers

  73. miguel ramirez says:

    muy interesante

  74. Tony Colbert says:

    I have the 30 Day book and it is a huge help. What do the abbreviations after Dr. Ripich’s name stand for … ND and CNP?

  75. Charlie says:

    Hi Tony, I responded to this question yesterday here: http://www.healing-diabetes.co.....mment-6029.

    Cheers

  76. Esperanza murillo says:

    Hi Charlie, just a question do you have this book on spanish?

  77. Charlie says:

    Hi Esperanza, in this link I talk about this book in spanish. The editors told me it would be ready probably this fall, around october-november. I’ll let people now when it is published.

    Salud-os

  78. CLARK says:

    I have some friends who have had fantastic success with this plan and on day 4 and have cut my insulin use in half already and sleep better and have more strength…I am 80 years young and diabetic 2 for 25 years….I FEEL SO BLESSED TO HAVE FOUND THIS BOOK!!

  79. Mary Ann says:

    I am on day 19; have lost 8 lbs and have not had any sugar (real or fake) in 19 days.nMy blood sugar and blood pressure are good, but there is room for more inprovement.

    • Charlie says:

      Thanks for sharing Mary Ann! I hope your health levels improve even more. Come back again if you like it and update us with your improvements.

      Cheers

  80. jim healthy says:

    Thanks for your intelligent and very fair review of our book, Charlie. Dr. Ripich and I have been extremely gratified by the number of people that have been helped by our plan. Of course, many books in the past have demonstrated that Type 2 can be reversed with proper diet (low-carb/high-fat) and healthful lifestyle practices. What we did was prioritize the most important actions (as confirmed by clinical research)and arrange them in an easy, step-by-step that would eliminate confusion and guesswork for the user. To date, we have sold 250,000 copies of The 30-Day Diabetes Cure (introduced 30 months ago). This would easily place us in the #1 position on the New York Times bestseller list IF we sold through bookstores, Amazon, and traditional outlets. This is not our business model, for a number of reasons — although we are considering a lower-priced retail edition, as well as a Spanish translation. In January, 2013, we will launch our “One Million Ex-T2s” campaign globally, which is committed to reduction the world’s population of Type 2 diabetics by 1,000,000. To kick off the campaign, we will be giving away our new ebook, Diabetes Heroes, to anyone who wants a copy. We will also encourage people who have family and friends with Type 2 to send them a link to the ebook. Diabetes Heroes contains profiles of 14 of our very best case histories — ordinary people who have reversed their diabetes and completely eliminated their need for drugs and diabetes-related meds. These are touching and inspirational first-person accounts of how these people conquered their diabetes (an accomplishment that most Type 2s — and their doctors — aren’t even aware is possible. I’m happy to send you an early review copy, if you’re interested. People don’t realize that the Diabetes Industry rakes in over $400 billion annually — so there is very little incentive to find a cure, prevent the problem, or encourage T2s to get off their meds.(By 2020, it will a one-trillion dollar industry — making it the first corporate-sponsored disease, if you don’t count lung cancer!) Government and private industry won’t solve this dilemma, even though Type 2 threatens to bankrupt the world’s healthcare resources and decimate the global economy. We believe our best hope in defeating Type 2 is through diabetics inspiring and helping each other. It is time for us all to join together and help each other achieve better health and greater personal freedom before the corporate agenda relegates our role in society to be nothing more than “consumers” of their dehumanizing products. I implore you to help spread the message far and wide. Type 2 represents the consequence of eating and living in a way that best for corporate interests, not human happiness and well-being. In a sense, our situation is similar to that of feedlot cattle whose movement, diet, and freedom are restricted so that we can fattened up for the harvest. We can’t allow this to go on any longer. Thanks again, Charlie, for you have done — and are doing — to foster the cause of health and freedom.

  81. jim healthy says:

    P.S. I encourage you and everyone who wants to help, to contact me directly at jim@jimhealthy.com to see how we can work together to conquer the threat and spread of Type 2 globally. Jim

  82. Charlie says:

    Hi Jim, thank you for your comment! It’s an honor to have the actual co-author of the book commenting on my blog!
    It’s a pleasure and a duty to help spread the word and help people, at least with type 2 diabetes, improve their health and even reverse the disease symptoms.

    Let me know how can we work together to help even more.

    Cheers
    Charlie

  83. Magüi says:

    Hola a todos, veo que el libro de curar la diabetes en 30 dias esta en ingles, ¿sabe alguno si tambien en español?, porque me gustaría seguir esa dieta. Muchas gracias.

  84. Loi says:

    Hi Charlie,

    I was just diagnosed last December 14, 2012. I do carbs counting and exercise everyday.

    I am from the Philippines. Can I send the money to you via paypal and you will just send the book to me?

    Thanks,
    Loi

  85. Charlie says:

    Hi Loi, I do not sell that book. I just wrote this review about it. If you want to buy it, you have to do it on their website (you’ll find the link at the end of my review)

    Cheers

  86. Cathy says:

    I got my copy last week and am really encouraged to “clean out my pantry & refrigerator. I have been on a popular weight loss program for the past year and in 6 months lost 30lbs and cut my 1000mg of Metformin twice a day down to 500mg twice a day. However for the past 6 months I have not been able to lose. I go up 0.4lbs, then down 0.4lbs. Up 1.0lb…down 0.6lbs. But have been up & down with this 1 lb for 6 months. )-: After reading a few chapters I checked the approved foods in that Wt loss program and found many of the unhealthy ingredients. So now I’m thinking these are possibly the reason I’m stuck. Today I started the 30-Day plan. Will keep you posted. (=

  87. Charlie G says:

    Hi Cathy, if you already lost 30lbs before, it should be much easier to get rid of some more weight with the diet and the rest of the non-diet recommendations in this book.
    All the best and keep us posted :-)

  88. [...] I think, if those celebrities funded and spread the word about research investigations addressing a cure for diabetes, we could find a cure for type 1 diabetes earlier than we think. For type 2 diabetes they could educate people about healthier food choices and encourage them to exercise regularly instead of encouraging them to take this or that drug. A popular case in this direction is the comedian Drew Carey, who had type 2 diabetes and recently announced “I’m completely off medications” following a more holistic and natural plan similar to this one. [...]

  89. Rita Nigro says:

    I have just spent the last hour reading through your blog Charlie & have been INSPIRED by the number of people who have written regarding their success in eliminating their Type 2 Diabetes after following the book. I totally agree that SOME doctors even here in Australia don’t tell you the truth about a disease. We lost a dear friend, an Indian doctor who couldn’t cure himself of diabetes. He died at barely 70 years of age after battling kidney problems. I have seen another friend die from losing BOTH HIS LEGS from the knee down due to the complications of Diabetes. So we know how important it is to stay free of this dreaded disease. I’m going to order the book today. I believe PREVENTION IS BETTER THAN A CURE & as I’m in my early 60′s I say this is a good time to start. Thanks SO much to Dr Ripich & Jim Helathy (is that REALLY his true name?)

  90. Diana Dwyer says:

    I have not read the book “The 30 Day Cure For Diabetes”. I had thought about purchasing the book and decided to do a little research regarding the book. The title grabbed my attention and especially the word “Cure”. I generally think of a cure as the end of a disease never having to worry about it coming back again– but it sounds at best like another book on reversing diabetes. My guess the word “Cure” was there for a reason–mainly so that we all would hurry out and buy the book. I would have to say I was disappointed with his sales pitch to buy his book–other doctors, such as Neal Banard and Joel Fuhrman and are more willing to talk to us about reversing diabetes and give some excellent information. I don’t swallow everything hook, line, and sinker–sometimes you just have to figure out what is toing to work best for you and what will fit your lifestyle best. At any rate,I think most of us know that we have to work hard at our diets, exercise, vitamin intake, stress levels, and sleep habits. A cure for diabetes? No, but with some hard work we can at best, reverse it.

    • Charlie G says:

      Hi Diana,
      I agree with you, I don’t like either when a book about a specific illness like diabetes uses the word “cure” as a definitive cure when the proposed treatment doesn’t do that.
      But we have to acknowledge (or at least I do) that the plan recommended in The 30 Day Diabetes Cure book is one of the simplest to follow, with step by step guidance and has the potential to put you in a place where you regain your health and probably drugs are not needed anymore.

      Eventhough that may or may not be considered “a cure”, it is a place where most of the diabetics would like to be, and should be, if they want to live a longer life without the dangerous diabetes complications.

      As you say, most of us know what we need to do (diet, exercise, avoid stress, vitamins…) but most people don’t do it because they don’t have an easy-to-follow plan.

      Yes, until a “cure” is found/allowed, we better at least reverse diabetes.

  91. […] who follows the same way is Dr. Schnitzer. – Holistic treatment by Dr. Ripich and Jim Healthy (in his book, “The 30 Day Diabetes Cure”) – Ayurvedic treatment – Traditional Chinese Medicine – The German New Medicine – Paleo Diet […]

  92. Gigi says:

    I was interested in hearing how Chuck Tillinghast (who said that he would report how he did after 30 days). Hoping he will see this and let us know.

  93. clarence says:

    I’m already skinny enough. It looks like I will probably lose weight with this diet. Is the weight loss contingent on excess fat? I don’t want to lose weight. I just want to be healthy. Is losing weight a necessary side-effect of the diet?